top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

My Summer Favourites


Today is my first day back at University. It's been 3 and a half months since I finished my second year and started this blog, so I thought I'd talk about my favourite reads this summer, some I've posted about on this blog and some I haven't. I always suck at choosing favourite anything, whether its a colour or a book, so I've narrowed it down to no less than 8.


I'll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I read this in July and still can't stop thinking about it so it's definitely up there with my favourites! You can see my review on my blog here. It was the first contemporary I had read in a while and it definitely reminded me to start adding more of them into my reading routine.


Moonrise by Sarah Crossan

I picked this one up from the library in late July purely because of the cover with no expectations of what it was about. Written in prose, it is definitely different to the books I normally read and I didn't expect to love it as much as I did but it left me heartbroken after. I didn't read for a fair few days. See my full review here.


Reread Harry Potter by J.K Rowling (narrated by Stephen Fry)

I have been wanting to reread this series for years. I've repeatedly watched the films but haven't read the books since I was a child and felt like I was missing out on so much information I had forgotten. I set myself the challenge of reading my first audiobook and thought it gave me a great opportunity to reread this series while walking to work and cooking, so as to not interfere with my other reading I wanted to do as well. The first book was just as good as I remember! I did a blog post about it here.


To All The Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

This is my go-to feel-good film; I've watched it an embarrassing number of times. I thought it was about time I read the book, which is unusual because usually I've red the book before watching the film. But, three books later and I'm awaiting the second film and even listening to the first book again on audiobook. It was even one of my first blog posts here.


Circe by Madeline Miller

This was the very first book I read after finishing my English exams late May. I thought it was the perfect mid-way between the university reading I had been doing and reading for fun; based on The Odyssey (a book I'd read in my first year at Uni), it provides a female retelling of one of the characters. I included it in my second blog post.


Tinderbox by Megan Dun

I read this one last week, actually in preparation for a publishing module I'm taking and it was so interesting! I'm waiting till I have my seminar and discuss it with others before I write my blog post on it, but expect that soon.


Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Last year after my exams I reread A Court of Thorns and Roses, so I thought it only fitting that this year I reread her other series. I had already read the first three books but wanted to read them again before I continue the series. The first book definitely reminds me of the books I read as a young teenager!


Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano

I was so lucky to be sent this by Penguin on my birthday and it was such a heart-wrenching book. My review will be up early 2020 just before it is released.



So those are my favourites. I've started to read more books for University recently but I'm still aiming to fit books for fun into my time. You might even see a post about how I'm doing this and whether I'm struggling in the coming months.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page