top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

My November Reading plans



In September I took part in a Book Bingo readathon. This month I'm taking part in #Believeathon. In the effort to maintain a balance between my university require reading and reading for fun, I though this was the perfect challenge for me. I was able to go to the local library today and pick up many children's books, which are quick reads and nostalgic. Of the 10 prompts given, I have planned books for 8 of them. This is manageable to me, on top of the reading I need to do for seminars and essays. If I find time, I may add books for the last two prompts.


1. A book featuring magic

I chose A Girl of Paper and Fire, which is a book that's been on my TBR for a while now and I actually found it in my library! I think its one of two book I've chosen this month that is YA, not children's, but I just couldn't resist.


2. A book featuring myths and legends

The Grimm Fairy Tales has been on my shelf for two years now. I received a gorgeous copy for a birthday a while back and I've read a few of the tales before bed some nights, but not the whole book yet.


3. A book about real-world issues

I found The Family Tree by Mal Peet in the library; a cute picture book about a dad who builds a tree house but uses it to escape his marriage.


4. A book set in the past

I went straight to Michael Morpurgo in the library, because how could I do a month of reading children's books and not include Morpurgo? My choice is In the Mouth of the Wolf, which I was drawn to by the cover. Set in 1939, it is about two brother's decisions in the war; one a soldier and one a pacifist.


5. A book featuring friendship

Eleanor + Park has been in my kind of eyesight for a while but I've never tried to get a copy before seeing it on display in the library.


6. A creepy book

I haven't planned anything for this category but let me know your suggestions in case I do!


7. A seasonal book

I haven't planned anything for this category either but let me know your suggestions in case I do!


8. A book with an animal character

For this one, I'll be rereading Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.


9. A children's classic

I plan to read a Roald Dahl book here because there is a specific readathon for Roald Dahl, but I'm still deciding which of his books. Maybe Matilda?


10. Reread your personal favourite children's books

This was a hard one because I never had a favourite book as a child; I remember liking the Malory Towers and famous Five series, and reading A series of Unfortunate Events with my Sister. But the book I decided on was the 6th in the Rainbow Magic series: Izzy the Indigo Fairy. I wouldn't put it past my younger self to have read over 100 books in this series as a child. It's short which is a plus but it will also be nostalgic so I'm looking forward to it.


Alongside this list for the readathon, the books I know I'll have to read for University are:

- White Noise by Don Delillo

- Iraq+100 by Hassan Blasim

- The Oval Window by J.H. Prynne

- Kalimba by Petero Kalule

- Surge by Jay Bernard

- The Autobiography of my Mother by Jamaica Kincaid

- Portrait with Keys: Johannesburg Unlocked by Ivan Vladislavic

- Look We Have Coming to Dover by Daljit Nagra


I think 16 is more than enough. What are your reading plans for November?


Happy Reading :)

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page