top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

To All the Boys I've Loved Before


To All the Boys I've Loved Before book and film

To All the Boys I've Loved Before

Jenny Han

Rating 5* (both sequels 4*)


Reading this book has been a long time coming. Since the film was first released on Netflix, I have been obsessively watching it. It has been my feel-good film for too long, you know the film you put on whenever you're bored, or you don't know what to watch, or just feel a bit down.


To All the Boys I've Loved Before meme

This meant I had high expectations for the book. To be honest, it's not often I have already watched the film before approaching the book. Usually, I'm watching a film as a highly-critical lover of the book. And, it's safe to say, I may be just as obsessed with the book. Jenny Han writes in such an easy-reading but captivating and realistic way. I might go as far to say that it is one of the best book-film adaptations. It's definitely up as my top two with Catching Fire.

For those who haven't watched the film, it follows Lara Jean, who wrote five love letters when she was younger, each after having a crush on a boy, all of which end up getting posted to the boys. In an effort to ignore her sister's ex-boyfriend (a recipient of one letter), she fake-dates Peter, aka another recipient of a letter. While we all know how this story will probably play out (a factor which normally minimizes the amount I read within the chick lit genre), Han's writing and characters are so well written, I loved it.

I think throughout the book, I did definitely noticed small differences from the movie, but there were no major ones. And for each alteration, I was split half and half as to whether I think the book or film did it better. For example:


- In the film, Peter wants to date Lara Jean to make his ex (Gen) jealous but, in the book, it's to help him move on (I think the movie may have been more believable here).

- Lara's kiss with Josh is excluded from the film. (I liked the inclusion of it in the book more, because it sparks more awkwardness with Margot than just hearing she used to like him).

- Kitty's motive for sending out the letters. (I think I preferred the book because it makes Kitty's character more dynamic - she has moods and bad traits, whereas in the film she is just a supporting sister who wants the best for Lara Jean, although I guess this would be easier to forgive than the book's reality.)

- Peter drives her to school. (Not a big change, but in the book, this isn't instant; it is requested by Lara Jean. I think the film romanticises him more by making him appear perfect, driving her everywhere without asking. In the book, she is constantly frustrated at him being late or bailing on her).

- She has a better support system in the film. Here, I'm talking about Chrissy mainly, but also her family. (In the book, Chris is flighty and hardly ever at school whereas in the film she is always there and forever supportive. In fact, in the book, Lara Jean starts as a real loner, with only Josh and Chrissy to talk to at school.)

The two characters that surprised me the most were the older sister (Margot) and the dad, purely due to their differing representations from the film. I actually think Margot is more dislikeable in the book. Her strict personality comes across as harsher - at least in the film she is more understanding and, honestly, less included in the plot. In the book, she is more judgemental - about Lara Jean's relationship and the released video. As for the dad, in the film he is involved, spying on her girly chats and encouraging her, whereas in the book the three daughters are very much in control of the house. His lack of dating life is a key factor and Margot is constantly represented as the head of the household (cooking/cleaning/organising their schedules and lives).

Overall, the book surprised me - I liked the increased detail and slight changes from the film. The writing is so easy-reading and captivating.


*SPOILERS FOR THE SEQUELS BELOW*


I bought book two the very next day from finishing this. While I liked this one less, I think that was due to the half-and-half plot for me. The first half (included in the first film) seemed to me simply a tool to point out every negative thing about Peter and Lara Jean's relationship. It was only in the second half, when John Ambrose (the love rival) is introduced, that the pace increases and the writing returns to what I loved about the first book. In fact, I actually found myself rooting for John and wanting a Court of Thrones and Roses-style love twist. After boosting Peter up in the first book, the second book seemed to show all the reasons they're so different (and I still stand by that his relationship with Gen is too much), which seemed to be pointing all for a love swap. But, alas, Han kept with dear old Peter. After watching the film again mid-writing this blog post, I also noticed that Lara Jean calls John just a kid from Model UN in fifth grade, whereas in the book they were all childhood friends. Will probably make for another book-movie change when the sequel is released.


As for the third installment, I found it yet again really easy-reading. That word seems to crop up a lot in the post. I definitely stand by that the first book is my favourite but this one felt more relatable to me: Lara Jean and Peter prepare to leave High School and head towards different colleges. What I would have liked is to actually see them at college, but looking back I think the choice to leave the final book on the hope of staying together summarises the tone as a whole - hopeful and endearing.


If you've read this series, let me know what you thought! Did you prefer the book or the film?


Happy reading! :)

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page