top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

Reading multiple books at a time



Until recently, I've never been one to read multiple books at once. I just couldn't concentrate and remember multiple different plots. I used to read so fast as a young teenager that it wasn't worth trying to read multiple at once.


Now, though, I find myself juggling multiple books at the same time. The main reason is my need to read for fun alongside my University studies, but I can also attribute my discovery of audiobooks to this habit of reading multiple books at a time. For example, as I write this post, I have just finished Murmur by Will Eaves, I am 2 hours into listening to The Goblet of fire, and a few chapters into rereading Things Fall Apart. I am also about to begin Empire of Storms, the next books I need to read in Sarah J Maas' series. That is 3 at one time; a University required reading, a book I chose for fun, and an audiobook.


I think that is the only reason I can do it - all three serve a different purpose for reading: one is to study and think analytically about in preparation for essays, one is to escape the required reading into a world of fantasy, and one is to listen to as I walk to university everyday. All fall into different genres so compliment each other.


The only time this balance is threatened is if I really get invested in a book. For example, last weekend I read Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas in a matter of just over a day. I didn't read multiple books at once. I just read the one. It was too engrossing to put down and pick up a University book. That is why I either pick a book I know I can read past in between University reading, or prepare to only read a few chapters at once from a larger book.


Can you read multiple books at once? My tips would be:

1. Choose books from different genres, that way their plots will differ drastically.


2. Vary the format, between audiobooks, paperbacks, graphic novels and ebooks. It will make a difference!


3. If you know you won't be able to put a book down read it when you have a dedicated amount of time to finish it.


4. If you find yourself forgetting to continue a certain book and starting others, DNF it; it clearly isn't holding your interest.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page