top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

Why I reread books I like



This is often a mixed one. I've talked to people who never reread books because for them, the magic is lost, but I also know people who reread their favourite books to revisit them, often associating them with a specific time of year. For example, my mum rereads Harry Potter on an annual basis when the films start to be aired in order around about now.


Personally, I reread series for two reasons: if another book is due out after a large gap, I'll reread the series to catch up; and if I loved the whole series, I'll reread it after a while. Below are a few books I've reread recently.


I'm currently rereading Harry Potter via the audiobooks, narrated by Stephen Fry. I haven't read the book series since I was a young teen, so my knowledge of everything Harry Potter has relied mainly on the films, which definitely does not cover everything. How can then? In the process of rereading the childhood favourite, I've re-discovered things I've forgotten that were excluded from the films and I've re-evaluated my perceptions of certain characters (such as Snape) where they differ from book to film. I've just finished book 3 and loved it, so will be onto book 4 next. I'm not going to lie though, I didn't enjoy book 2. Coincidentally, this is my least favourite film as well. There are just too many plot holes!


Last year, after my exams finished, I reread ACOTAR in time to read the third and last book. I love Sarah J Maas' work, mainly because, after studying 'classics' at University, it allows me to read the books I loved as a teenager before attending University. I even got my boyfriend to read this series (see the blog post here).


I'm also currently (and slowly) rereading Throne of Glass, Mass' other series. I had previously read the first few books, but not the newest four additions. I'm trying to incorporate reading for fun in my University timetable and Throne of Glass is a great way to do this because the books are such easy reading. I can read them in a day or two, so can fit them nicely into my weekends. Don't get me wrong, I remembered how the first three or four ended, but not every plot twist. The first may lack in plot and character development but it will forever be a favourite of mine; it's just very nostalgic. The second was probably my least favourite reread because I was aware of how everything tied up so I couldn't get as invested in the twists. This is probably why some people choose not to reread series like this. However, I've now gotten onto books I haven't yet read and am appreciating my decision to reread because I'm more invested in the series, and remembering all the previous details now. You may be able to remember general plot points and book endings, but over time you loose the details.


My final recent reread was To All The Boys I've Loved Before. I wanted an audiobook to read while walking to University, and this was available on Libby. The film is a high favourite for me as a feel-good film and I recently read the whole trilogy and loved it as well. This may be the least amount of time that has occurred between my first reread and my reread but I still loved it. i watch the film so many times, I wasn't expecting to rediscover the plot. I already knew every moment of the plot. But I still loved my reread. the audiobook format added something new and it was great to revisit a great, easy read amid a week of hard-hitting University reading.


Do you reread books? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter!


Happy reading :)


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page