top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

Try A Chapter Tag



I've seen a few people do this tag recently (the first one was BooksandQuills on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJK_czAdmas) and decided to give it a go myself.


Ever since I finished my exams my tbr pile has been growing at a scary rate. The last few times I've had to choose a book, one has stood out, whether due to a recommendation or my mood. However, recently I've been taking longer than normal just picking my next read. I have an array of genres and authors so I thought now would be the perfect chance to try the Chapter Tag. Basically, you pick a selection of books you might want to read next (I chose 7) and read the first chapter. From here, it should be easier to decide which you want to read first.


To be honest, I was expecting to struggle; I was expecting to get hooked and not want to put it down, or struggle when reading a chick flick chapter then next a fantasy chapter. In fact, it look less time than I thought and I quite enjoyed it. It appeased my indecisive mood because I got to read many different styles in a matter of an hour.


So let's get into the books I tasted:


1. Show Them a Good Time by Nicole Flattery



Irish writer Nicole Flattery's short story collection explores men and women in their assigned roles and meanings, in modern society, as well as work.


I picked up this gem from the library recently. I saw a tweet from @thenewbrunette asking why people didn't visit their local library, in which I admitted I didn't like the YA selection. It is very limited. However, I was determined to have a look around now and I found this recent publication on one of their stands. I read the first story, about a prostitute who returns home after trying to find her big break in the city and is disappointed by life and work at the local petrol station. It was very deep and definitely made you think about what you want in life, and the balance between enjoying the moment and striving for more.


2. I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella



Fixie Farr has always lived by her father’s motto: “Family first.” But since her dad passed away, Fixie spends all her time picking up the slack from her siblings instead of striking out on her own. So when a handsome stranger in a coffee shop asks her to watch his laptop for a moment, Fixie not only agrees—she ends up saving it from certain disaster. To thank Fixie for her quick thinking, Sebastian scribbles an IOU on a coffee sleeve and attaches his business card. A series of IOUs between Seb and Fixie—from small favors to life-changing moments—ensues. Will she finally grab the life, and love, she really wants?


Sophie Kinsella is one of my mum's favourite authors. I've read her work before; easy-reading and fun. On an everyday basis, chick flicks aren't my go-to genre (they're too predictable — I like a good plot twist / page-turner). However, recently I've been getting into the genre. I think after reading many heavy novels for University, these light-hearted fun reads are a welcome change. The first chapter was fun and easy-reading. It was full of cliches, but I didn't expect anything less. I'll definitely be reading it soon but it had some better competition for first place.


3. The Red Scrolls of Magic by Cassandra Clare



All Magnus Bane wanted was a vacation. But as soon as the pair settles in Paris, an old friend arrives with news about a demon-worshipping cult called the Crimson Hand that is bent on causing chaos around the world. A cult that was apparently founded by Magnus himself. Years ago. As a joke. Now Magnus and Alec must race across Europe to track down the Crimson Hand and its elusive new leader before the cult can cause any more damage.


Reading this chapter was like returning to my 14 year old self, reading the entire Mortal Instruments Series. Magnus always was my favourite and his Point of View did not disappoint! It mixed fun and Clare's normal action style perfectly. I definitely wanted to read more...


4. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon



The year is 2059. Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

The concept behind this book stood out - it was definitely unlike anything I'd read recently. However, I think this was the only book where I struggled to get a good sense within only one chapter. Shannon has a whole world to build and I don't think, after one chapter, I have fully been able to understand it. I will definitely be reading it soon but not due to this activity.


5. I'll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson



At first, Jude and her twin brother Noah, are inseparable. Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . The early years are Noah's to tell; the later years are Jude's. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they'll have a chance to remake their world.


This book had been recommended to me by a friend so I thought I could give the first chapter a go. I was introduced to two twins, one introverted and one extroverted who are discussing going to art school with their mum. It ends where the twins looks at each other, realising their mum has just given away who her favourite is. The pages are laid out in a creative way, matching the twins creative talents and overall, it was a fun read. After reading the blurb, I think the next chapter (Jude's) might be a bit different as it is set a few years ahead).


6. Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee



Twenty-six-year-old Jean Louise Finch--"Scout"--returns home from New York City to visit her aging father, Atticus. Set against the backdrop of the civil rights tensions and political turmoil that were transforming the South, Jean Louise's homecoming turns bittersweet when she learns disturbing truths about her close-knit family, the town and the people dearest to her.


I have hesitated starting this one because, when it first released, all I heard were negative comments on Atticus being racist. I reckoned now was as good a time as any to try it, when I could just read the first chapter. What I found was exactly what I wanted: Scout has the same style and mind-set, just older. The first chapter follows her train journey into her old hometown. Atticus wasn't introduced yet but the first chapter has given me hope that it won't let me down (To Kill A Mockingbird was one of my favourite stories after studying it at GCSE). I think I want to reread the first before I continue with the sequel though.


7. Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman



An all-female society is discovered somewhere in the distant reaches of the earth by three male explorers who are now forced to re-examine their assumptions about women's roles in society.


This reminded me of a cross between Gulliver's Travels and King Solomon's Mines. The first chapter follows three men as they are told of the legend of the all-female society. As they plan to go visit it and see for themselves whether the myth is true, the audience is introduced to their sexist ideals, as they claim a female society couldn't possibly be prosperous without any male interference. It was fun to read (knowing the next chapter probably introduces the prosperous female society) but not quite what I was looking for in my next read (aka. something with a lighter tone).


My choice:


So, after reading 7 different first chapters, the book I have decided to read first is I'll give you the Sun. It was so well written and easy to read; it was in a genre that I haven't read for a while (contemporary) and the text itself was laid out in such an exciting and creative way. I mean look at it:



None of the chapters have put me off reading any of the books. I'll definitely be finishing the other chapters of them all eventually.


Overall, I think I enjoyed the activity more than I thought I would. I've been able to pick up where I left off in I'll Give You The Sun, despite the interruption. If you've done this before, let me know how you got one. And if you think I should be reading one of the other six books next, tell me which one!


Happy reading! :)


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page