top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrittany

My Reading Rush TBR



So.. it's that time of the year where The Reading Rush has began. First started on YouTube, it's is a week-long Readathon for booklovers, where 7 challenges are set. You can read a book that covers three of the challenges, but bonus if you read seven different books.


I used to read a lot and looking back, I have no clue how. This summer I have a full time job so it will be even harder. Regardless, I decided to give The Reading Rush a go for the first time, and get in touch with the teenage me who read like this most days.


I started yesterday with The Magic Scrolls of Magic by Cassandra Clare. It'd been on my tbr for a long time so I thought I could get through it fast. I read it during my lunch break and straight after work. This book was intended to target Challenge 5: Read a book with a non-human main character (Magnus is a warlock and Alec is a shadowhunter). However, I've been thinking of also using it to count towards Challenge 6: Read a book with more than five words in the title because the idea of seven books in my first year seems pretty hard. I didn't exactly finish my first book yesterday. But I did get 2/3 of the way through! And that was after a 9-5 working day and an hour nap to prevent a migraine. I'm hoping to finish it today and get started with my second book tomorrow. I've included a novella and an audiobook so maybe I can catch up. You never know!


While my TBR pile for this week could be changed at a moments notice according to my mood (I'll never get through a book a day if I don't fancy reading that book right then), here is this week's plan as it looks now:


1/ Read a book with purple on the cover

I chose Blood & Brute & Ginger Root by Melissa Wright. I have beta read and reviewed for this author for a while and after lovingly receiving a free copy of her new novella (released last Sunday), I thought this was a perfect time to start reading it (bonus because it's short!)


2/ Read a book in the same spot the entire time

Whatever I feel like at the time. I don't really want to plan this one given the nature of what it is. I might do a graphic novel for this one - split up the reading of long texts and it'll be quick when sitting in the same spot! If you have any recommendations, I'd love to hear them.


3/ Read a book you meant to read last year

Nora & Kettle by Lauren Nicolle Taylor. This has been on my radar (and my kindle) for a while now- it's a retelling of Peter Pan.


4/ Read an author’s first book

I'm going to be listening to the audiobook for Harry Potter and the Philosopher Stone. It will be my first audiobook experience but I think it is very needed so that I can read whilst walking to work and cooking etc.


5/ Read a book with a non-human main character

The Red Scrolls of Magic by Cassandra Clare. I read the first chapter for this as a part of another challenge (Try a Chapter) and really liked getting back into a world I read when I was younger. Below are my thoughts on it so far (2/3 in)


6/ Pick a book that has five or more words in the title

If constrained by time, I'll use Cassandra Clare for this challenge as well. If not, I'll read Anna and the French Kiss. Recommended to me by a friend, it looks like a great quick read!


7/ Read and watch a book to movie adaptation

I could use Harry Potter for this challenge as well, but if I have the time I'd love to read Simon vs the Homosapiens agenda. I've already watched this but I'm up for watching it again, plus I thought the book would be a fun, quick read.



Side note about The Magic Scrolls so far...

It's a really easy read! My favourite character was always Magnus so his perspective is golden! The narrative changes from his to Alec's smoothly and the plot is just as funny as I'd have expected it to be with Magnus involved.

However, I do feel like I'm missing a piece of the puzzle. I haven't read the Mortal Instruments series in years (it took me a while to figure out this book fell in the fourth book, not at the end of the series). For example, I don't remember Raphael being so rude and whiny, and I imagined Magnus as more flamboyant - don't get me wrong, his dress and actions are, but his thoughts and speech are sometimes lacking. Plus, I haven't read many of the spin-off series. Therefore, I feel at a loss; like I can't appreciate all the side characters because they are from other series. It's an enjoyable read as a standalone but I think I'm trying to connect it to the series too much, and it's not working for me.


Let me know what you're reading for your Reading Rush below or on Twitter @Book_Ramblings


Happy Reading :)


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page